Wednesday, 1 June 2011

CASE 294 - The Royal society

The hidden heirs to the Knights Templar devised a method to pass on their sacred knowledge; a system that eventually developed into Freemasonry, Rosicrucianism and the Invisable College, which later transmuted into the Royal Society, its where all the top scientists, artists are monitored, funded and conditioned by the elite above them.

The Royal Society of London for Improving Natural Knowledge, known simply as the Royal Society, is a learned society for science, and is possibly the oldest such society in existence. Founded in November 1660, it was granted a Royal Charter by King Charles II as the "Royal Society of London". The Society was initially an extension of the "Invisible College", with the founders intending it to be a place of research and discussion. The Society today acts as a scientific advisor to the British government, receiving a parliamentary grant-in-aid. The Society acts as the UK's Academy of Sciences, and funds research fellowships and scientific start-up companies.
The Society is governed by its Council, which is chaired by the Society's President, according to a set of Statutes and Standing Orders. The members of Council and the President are elected from and by its Fellows, the basic members of the Society, who are themselves elected by existing Fellows. There are currently 1,314 Fellows, allowed to use the postnominal title FRS (Fellow of the Royal Society), with 44 new Fellows appointed each year. There are also Royal Fellows, Honorary Fellows and Foreign Fellows, the last of which are allowed to use their postnominal title ForMemRS (Foreign Member of the Royal Society). The current Royal Society President is Sir Paul Nurse, who took up the position on 30 November 2010

There are approximately 1,450 Fellows and Foreign Members, including more than 75 Nobel Laureates. Current Fellows include Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Richard Dawkins, Stephen Hawking, Harry Kroto, Tim Berners-Lee, Paul Nurse and John Sulston.
Individuals who are not eligible for election to the Fellowship in the conventional categories may be eligible for election as Honorary Fellows. Seven Honorary Fellows have been elected to date. Before 1996 some Fellows were also elected under the former Statute 12 arrangements.

There are currently five members of the Royal Family who have been elected as Royal Fellows. Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is our patron.

Sir Harry Kroto KCB has made a seminal contribution to the understanding of the fundamental dynamics of carbon chain molecules. Fellows are elected through a peer review process that culminates in a vote by existing Fellows. Each year 44 Fellows, 8 Foreign Members and up to 1 Honorary Fellow are elected from a group of over 700 candidates who are proposed by the existing Fellowship. Read the biographies of those elected in 2011.

Once elected, Fellows may use the postnominal FRS after their name, Foreign Members may use the postnominal ForMemRS after their name and Honorary Members may use the postnominal FRS after their name.

Women make up about 5 percent of the Fellowship. Over the last 10 years about 10 percent of new Fellows elected to the Royal Society have been women.

Professor Frances Ashcroft FRS is distinguished for her work on insulin secretion and type II diabetes (photo by Anne Purkiss).
Fellows are invited to fulfil a range of responsibilities for the Society on a voluntary basis . Many are members of awards or grants committees, editorial boards, research panels or other bodies that oversee the work of the Royal Society.
Fellows have the right to stand for election as members of the Council. They may also propose or support the nomination of candidates for election to the Fellowship or Foreign Membership and the nomination of Fellows for election as Officers or members of the Council.

No comments: